American Boy takes on England

 

How is it that a 20 year old American boy is on a 5 week trip to England to work on Ferrari cars? That’s the question I ask myself every morning when I wake up.

Photo Jun 29, 5 37 16 PM

I am a little over a week into my summer work experience here at GTO Engineering working in the Restoration Workshop. GTO Engineering is a world renown Ferrari shop based out of Twyford, England, just 20 miles west of London. How did I get this job? Well first let me give you some background on me.

I’m not a rich boy by any means. My dad is a firefighter and my mom is a teacher. We are a middle class family. That being said, I had never thought of seeing a classic Ferrari outside of museums and magazines. I was raised in Greeley, Colorado, which is known for smelling like utter shit (no pun intended) due to local feed lots. My early years of life, I quickly became a daddys boy. I loved the smell of gas, the art of cars, and the sound of an engine (they sounded a bit different then where I am now). My dad built motorcycles and cars with his friends, and my brother and I even had a couple projects of our own. But as I said, middle class, so these projects weren’t even worth a bargain, but were great to learn from. My first car was originally intended to be a 1966 VW Beetle, but soon into my teens I realized a muscle car would be a bit more badass. So, at 14 years old, I learned how to sell a car to get the money for a new one! The new car was a 1967 Pontiac Firebird. Set to be done by my 16th birthday, which as most would have guessed, did not happen.

Fast forward a couple years to my junior year of high school, this was when I quickly became more of a petrol head. I had expanded my skills quite a bit over the years with the Firebird. I helped other kids from high school with their car problems and eventually became the “car guy” at Greeley West High School. I had become very fond of painting cars by then from watching a family friend on Facebook and the painting scenes in TV shows. My interests quickly became a reality during my 3rd year of high school. I got the opportunity to be dual enrolled in both high school and automotive refinishing at Aims Community College.

I spent my last two years of high school in the paint booth. Through my refinishing program I was given the opportunity to compete at SkillsUSA, where I placed gold at the National level for two years straight. After my first gold medal, I had decided that cars is what I want to build a career out of. So that’s when college searching came into effect. I had received many scholarships through SkillsUSA, some of which were full tuition, to attend various tech schools. But tech school wasn’t really what I wanted to do. I still wanted a true college experience that a local community college or tech school could not have given me. Then one evening while my dad and I were watching tv, an episode of Chasing Classic Cars came on, which featured a very small college in the middle of Kansas named McPherson College.

Immediately I grew interested and looked into it more. The price tag scared my dad of course, and being out of state for four years scared my mom. But after a visit a few months later, there was no question that I belonged there.

My decision to attend McPherson College changed my life. I finally fit in with other kids at school for once, which was life changing alone. Other youngsters with interest in old cars can probably agree with me there. I have made friends that I will hold close for the rest of my life. Not only other students, but also professors. I also have been given opportunities I thought I would never be able to get.

After a long freshmen year of getting used to being on my own and learning how to be a college student, I received my first college achievement. I was given a scholarship for my sophomore year, the Pebble Beach Foundation Phil Hill Scholarship, which provided funds to help with my tuition and also a trip to the Concours d’Elegance in 2017. I also receive a SEMA scholarship, which helped with tuition and a pass to the SEMA show in 2017 as well.

One of the huge parts of McPherson College is it’s connections within the automotive industry. Having those connections brings many opportunities for us students to expand our knowledge and skills we have gained through school into real world situations. Every summer, most students have an internship. Some of them are found and applied for through the school, but many others are found through the students personal network. My freshman year, I got an internship in Los Angeles at GTO Engineering. I was 19 years old, living in LA right by the sign for Beverly Hills, working on Ferrari’s. After my internship had ended, my girlfriend Kylee flew out to spend a weekend with me in California. We then made an amazing road trip back to Kansas for the school year. A couple weeks after we got back to school, I was headed to Monterey, California for the Concours d’Elegance. I thought it couldn’t get better then that, until my sophomore year, just a few months ago.

I decided to send an email to my supervisor from GTO last year to ask about possibly spending another summer with them, but within a restoration setting rather than a full service and maintenance setting. I was quickly offered to travel to their restoration workshop in the United Kingdom for the summer of 2018. After months of setting it up, it became real. I hopped on a 9.5 hour flight to London to spend 5 weeks working on vintage Ferrari’s.

Over the last week and a half I have taken part in the build of one of the recreations that GTO Engineering is well known for, a 1958 250 Testa Rossa. So far I have installed the fuel tank, built and installed fuel lines, painted various parts, fabricated outer mirror brackets, and also many other various tasks throughout the shop. I have gotten experience within the machining shop to make the parts I needed, instead of buying them. I have also learned a lot about the company and even more about the history of Ferrari. While I am here, I am living in a little cottage right on the River Thames in the small village of Wargrave.

It is quite an odd feeling to be in a new country alone, especially after 2 years of going to a college where it is weird to see a new face. But, after a week of being here, I am starting to get a hang of things. I hope to find time to share many more blogs about things I am experiencing and seeing. I hope you choose to follow and read again!

signature

5 thoughts on “American Boy takes on England”

  1. Ben, you are amazing!! We are so proud of your determination and ambition to follow this career. Keep up the great work and enjoy every new experience this opportunity gives you! Love you so much!!

    Like

  2. Ben what a great experience. Enjoy your time there and the knowledge you are gaining. Deb and I will be following your blog.

    Like

  3. Ben this is a experience you will always remember. We are all very proud of you. Enjoy your time and knowledge you are getting. We will be following your blog.

    Like

Leave a comment