Why Everyone Should Build a Bike

This isn’t one of those cheesy posts that talks about the “10 things everyone should know how to do.” I’d say, by now, most everyone understands the basic things everyone should be required to know to ensure survival. Whether they know how to do those things or not, that’s not what this post is about.

What this post is about is something I believe every person should be given the chance to do, how to build a bicycle. Building a bicycle doesn’t take too much mechanical knowledge to do, it really only requires the ability to follow directions and a general understanding of how a tool works. What you get out of this experience though, is a whole lot more.

As I grew up, I loved working with my hands. I would take my new toys apart and then try to figure out how to put them back together. Sometimes this task was successful, but most times it was a disaster. But this habit I had actually brought a lot of good into my life beyond the broken and now-made-useless toys. I knew how to use some tools! Taking a toy car apart only takes a single screw driver. It may have taken a few tries of ripping them apart, but eventually I figured out that they were held together by a bunch of screws with a plus sign on top. After asking my dad for a little help, I eventually knew how to use a screw driver, my first tool!

BF 013 web
Everyone takes a senior picture like this right?

Being in the vintage car scene, I know how to use a lot of tools now. I have learned how to use every tool the same way that I learned how to use a screw driver. And the best part is that some tools can be used to do things other than what they are meant to do. Did you know that a wrench can do at least 5 different things? It can tighten and loosen a bolt of course, but it can also act as a pry bar, breaker bar, hammer, and even a bottle opener if you practice enough. I pretty much learn how to use a new tool every day.

A bike isn’t much different than that toy car. Now obviously a bike is going to take a lot more time, and a lot more than a few screws and a screw driver. After building a bike, you will know how to use the tools that should be in every toolbox, anywhere. Wrenches, screw drivers, Allen keys, pliers, and many more! There are some specialty tools that will be required as well though. Fortunately they can be bought online. If you don’t want to buy them, many local bike shops are almost always willing to teach someone how to do something, it still might cost a few bucks, but will be cheaper then buying the tools.

Now, I’m sure someone out there has made the comment, “what if I can’t afford all the parts to build a bicycle?” This is where the “10 things everyone should know how to do,” comes into play. This a great opportunity to learn how to save money. A bicycle, and the tools you’ll need to build it, should also be seen as an investment rather than an expense. You’ll have a supply of the tools you’ll need to do pretty much any basic maintenance within your home or vehicle. And you will also have a free-to-use vehicle that will never leave you stranded.

kim-spraying-up-the-frame-1453996962050-5apbqgy9pnt-945-80

Another thing that I have learned through the years with my dad, is that second hand shops have great used bikes! Now, you don’t need to build the bike from scratch, just taking apart a used bike to put it back together really has the same effect. This also gives you a chance to repaint it, upgrade it, or do anything that makes the used bike YOURS.

This experience will open the doors of many different opportunities as well. Knowing how to use tools will make learning how to do anything else, like changing your oil or changing your tire, a whole lot easier. Maybe it will start a hobby, the best part about building it is getting to ride it. Riding a bike helps with your fitness and health, helps save money on gas, and is a lot healthier for the planet. If you end up not using the bicycle, try selling it. You can’t put a price tag on the knowledge you’ve gained, but you can put one on the bike.

Bicycle-Wallpaper-Free-Download

 

Thanks for reading! Now get out there and have some fun!

signature

Leave a comment